The Only Sin

In this section, I will post quotes that have influenced my life and personality in one way or another. I want to share these beautiful lines with my fellow blogger friends and see if it move them too.


There is only one sin, only one, and that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. When you kill a man, you steal a life. You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness. There is no act more wretched than stealing.
~ The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

These lines influence me a lot. It brings down all sins in the world to the act of theft.

Slavery robbed a man of the right to freedom.
Sexual Abuse rob a girl of her dignity.
Discrimination rob a person of the right to equality.
Only if we humans could be more empathic towards other people, there would have been a lesser problem in this world.

Feel free to add your views in the comment section. I would love to hear from you.

16 thoughts on “The Only Sin

    1. Agreed. Theft doesn’t necessarily mean stealing tangible things it includes intangible things like hope.
      I also liked how profound the author thought and generalized all sins to the act of theft.

      Liked by 3 people

    1. Welcome Shreya. I will be posting more quotes in this section. 🙂
      Yes. The Kite Runner is a book by Khaled Hosseini. I like the narration of Khaled Hosseini. I have also read his “And The Mountains Echoed”. It was as fabulous as this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment